Member institutions



The Danish National School of Performing Arts
Den Danske Scenekunstskole
Rector: Mads Thygesen
Int. coordinator: Marie Groth (



The Estonian Academy of Music and Theatre
Eesti Muusika ja Teatriakadeemia
Head of Department: Jaak Prints
Int. coordinator: Angela Mooste (

University of Tartu, Viljandi Culture Academy, Performing Arts Department
Tartu Ülikool Viljandi Kultuuriakadeemia
Head of Department: Garmen Tabor
Int. Coordinator: Irene Hütsi (



University of Tampere, Faculty of Communication Sciences
Tampereen yliopisto  
Professor: Pauliina Hulkko (
Faculty member: Samuli Nordberg (
Int. coordinator: Anna Vähämäki (

University of The Arts, Helsinki
Taideyliopiston Teatterikorkeakoulu
Acting Dean: Maarit Ruikka
Int. coordinator: Jaakko Hannula (

Aalto University, School of Arts, Design and Architecture
Department of Film, Television and Scenography

Dean: Anna Valtonen (
Int. coordinator: Merja Vaisanen (



The National Theatre School of Greenland
Nunatta Isiginnaartitsisarfia
Artistic Leader/Contact person: Ruth Montgomery-Andersen (



Iceland University of the Arts, Department of Performing Arts
Listaháskóli Íslands
Dean of Department of Performing Arts: Sveinbjörg Þórhallsdóttir (
Int. coordinator: Alma Ragnarsdóttir (



Latvian Academy of Culture
Latvijas Kulturas akademija
Contact person: Prof. Zane Kreicberga (


Lithuanian Academy of Music and Theatre
Lietuvos Muzikos Ir Teatro Akademija
Dean of Faculty of Theatre and Film: Elona Bajoriniene (
Int. coordinator: Giedrė Kabašinskienė (



Norwegian Theatre Academy, Østfold University College
Hogskolen i Østfold
Artistic director - acting: Karmenlara Ely
Artistic director - Scenography: Serge von Arx
Int. coordinator: Pea Hov (

Oslo National Academy of the Arts
Kunsthøgskolen i Oslo
Rector: Jørn Mortensen (
Dean, The Academy of Theatre: Jon Refsdal Moe (
Int. coordinator: Espen Matheussen (

Høgskolen i Nord-Trøndelag
Int. coordinator: Katrine Bruvold (
-Currently not active partner in the network



Stockholm University of the Arts, Stockholm Academy of Dramatic Arts
Stockholms dramatiska högskola
Head of Derpartment of Acting: Simon Norrthon
Head of Department of Performing Arts: Kristina Molander
Int. coordinator: Katarina Tillberg (

Luleå University of Technology
Teaterhögskolan i Luleå
Rector: Michael Norlind
Int. coordinator: Meit Levin ( / Johan Forslund (

Malmö Theatre Academy
Teaterhögskolan i Malmö
Rector: Ditte Maria Bjerg
Int. coordinator: Anders Mattsson (

The Academy of Music and Drama, University of Gothenburg
Högskolan för scen och musik vid Göteborgs universitet
Acting Head of Department: Thomas Jäderlund
Head of Performing Arts programme: Catharina Bergil (
Int. coordinator: Ulf Sarner (


Each member school is represented in Norteas by an academic leader and an international coordinator. Norteas chooses a chair and a network coordinator every second year at the annual network meeting. Additionally, three coordinators are selected for a working group that supports the network coordinator in administration such as applying for funding, distribution of grants, planning joint activities etc. The annual meeting takes place in February each year and consists of a joint network meeting, a coordinators' meeting and a meeting for academic leaders. This is where the network makes its decisions on projects and priorities. The meeting is an important platform for discussing future projects as well as an opportunity for staff development. 

From 2016 - 2018 the Norteas network is hosted at Iceland Academy of the Arts.
Norteas Coordinator: Alma Ragnarsdóttir (
Norteas Chair: Steinunn Knútsdóttir (

Working group of coordinators
Alma Ragnarsdóttir, Iceland Academy of Arts, Department of Performing Arts
Jaakko Hannula, University of the Arts, Helsinki
Anders Mattsson, Malmö Theatre Academy
Giedrė Kabašinskienė, Lithuanian Academy of Music and Theatre